Biscotti

001

My first introduction to homemade biscotti began years ago at Christmas time. I had just unwrapped a gift from my childhood friend, Micaiah, and found a coffee mug wrapped with cellophane and  filled with chocolate drizzled biscotti and tea bags. I loved it. When I asked my friend for the recipe, she passed it on to me . . . And thus began a baking storm of biscotti 🙂 Whether they are Chocolate dipped, chocolate drizzled, caramel drizzled with pecans, almond coated, decked out with coconut shavings, toffee bits, craisins or mini chocolate chips, they found their way into peoples homes and hearts . . .  and stomachs of course:-) My sister, Abigail, is now known for her delicious biscotti making skills.They have been made for gifts, for my sister in laws Bridal shower party and even for my own wedding.

2/3 c. sugar
1/2 c. oil
2 t. rum extract (I always use about 1 TBS of almond extract instead of rum)
2 eggs
2 1/2 c. flour
1 t. baking powder
1/4 t. baking soda
1/4 t. salt

Heat oven to 350
Beat sugar, oil, rum extract & eggs.
Stir in remaining ingredients.
Turn dough onto lightly floured surface.
Shape half of the dough at a time into a rectangle measuring 3″x10″.
Place both rectangles onto an ungreased cookie sheet.
Bake 25-30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean
Cool on cookie sheet 15 minutes
Cut the rectangles crosswise into 1/2″ slices
Place slices (cut side against the cookie sheet) onto the cookie sheet
Bake 15 minutes, turning once, until crisp and a light brown.
Cool.
Variations: You may substitute vanilla for the rum and add 1 cup of nuts(almonds, cashews, etc.)

Leave a Reply

